We arrived after a mediocre SQ flight, and got right into things as it was the weekend.

We met a good friend for dinner at Maxwell hawker centre where we shared some food. The best photo ended up being of the carrot cake, so here it is:

Then we visited the Buddha tooth temple, which we found a beautiful but extremely commercial enterprise. It certainly wasn’t subtle asking for donations, something we didn’t expect from a respected religion.

However, as you can see, all that money must have been put to good use.

I also managed to spend time with my little niece, whom I’d never met. Here she is sitting on my lap.

The next day, we met A and ate to our heart’s content again, this time at VivoCity. We started with Japanese at Shin Kushiya, then celebrated Chinese New Year with yu sheng at Crystal Jade.

We had fun taking this photo, making more noise than any of the well-behaved kids in the restaurant:

We ended with dessert at Ben & Jerry’s. Yes!! There’s a Ben & Jerry’s in Singapore.. when are they opening one in Oz? (actually, that might not be such a good idea..)

Don’t worry, the brownie was shared.

On Monday, I was dragged to Sim Lim Square by my lovely husband, who was hoping to spend more than 30 mins in each and every store! Even though I like tech stuff, I cannot spend that long looking at hardware! I can understand how he feels when I go shopping now.. perhaps it’s revenge for all the shopping I drag him through?

On our walk back to the train station, Peter was asking: what are these?? We ended up eating a few. I used to love them when I was a kid: they’re crispy pancakes filled with chopped peanuts. Yum!

And the culinary adventure continues…