The rest of our trip went too fast, including a trip to KL, meeting more people and eating more food. I wish we’d had more time to meet more people (there are only 3 meals a day, and not enough time in between). If we’d made arrangements but never ended up meeting, I’m sorry, we’ll have to catch up on my next trip home (or you can fly here for a visit).

Here are some highlights.

More food (of course!) This time it’s P’s favourite food, murtabak.

This is what it looks like close up:

It’s a fried Indian pancake/bread filled with yummy marinated mutton or chicken, served with a small dish of spicy curry. Traditionally it’s breakfast food. This sounds awful to the uninitiated, but honestly, it tastes fabulous. Just don’t eat it every morning, you might get a heart attack. We reckon since we only get to eat it about once a year, we can overindulge.

We also had a very very cool time dragonboating with S (and a rowdy bunch of Aussie expats). I was dragged into it whining loudly, because S & P said “it would be FUN!!”, but ended up having a great time. I was sore for days, but I can’t wait to do it again. I’m still kicking myself because we have a waterproof camera I didn’t take a single photo. My excuse is that I was too busy paddling, and I had to pull my own weight on the boat or risk getting thrown overboard. Oh well, we’ll just have to do it again.

That same evening we had a huge meal at T’s with some of my friends from secondary /high school. Thank goodness because after the workout I was starving hungry. I stuffed my face (of course).


I’m proud to say I’ve been friends with these guys for more than 15 years!

Then we were taken by A. to Samy’s Curry Restaurant (review) where we had Fish Head Curry (recipe).


Trust me, it tastes so much better than it looks. Just be thankful I didn’t take a photo like this one.

Of course, I spent lots of time with my little niece. Mum looks after her on weekdays so I got to see her quite a bit. Here are some of her antics.


They’re all a bit blurry because babies don’t understand the idea of “keep still” and I didn’t want to startle her with the flash of the camera.

And of course, here’s a photo from her birthday.

We also met up with a colleague from Mexico, who absolutely loved the food (of course) at People’s Park, in Chinatown, which is getting more and more touristy by the minute. Fortunately it still has some of the best places to eat in Singapore.

If you’re visiting (or living in) Singapore, check out this fantastic article on local food.

I also spent a fun evening with my ex-boss eating yet more hawker food, and walking by the river.

We flew home from Changi Airport‘s new Terminal 3, after a yummy breakky at the staff canteen in T1. If you really want to go there, drag your luggage down the stairs behind the Burger King (map) and you should see it. Or ask anyone who works there.

The departure area of T3 has more shopping than I can handle (remarkable, really). And the women’s toilets are divine (and free)! It’s not one of the best airports in the world for nothing.

And here’s me in the powder room.

We were also lucky enough to fly back to Melbourne on a brand new plane. Look at the giant (for economy class) screen!


You can edit Word documents (very painfully) with the keyboard.


Goodbye Singapore, hello Melbourne!